page contents Sri Lanka Announce ODI, T20I Squad For West Indies Tour – The News Headline

Sri Lanka Announce ODI, T20I Squad For West Indies Tour

Sri Lanka on Monday introduced the ODI and T20I squad for the impending excursion of the West Indies. The squad used to be authorized via the Minister of Formative years and Sports activities Namal Rajapaksa. Suranga Lakmal used to be named as a substitute for pacer Lahiru Kumara, who examined sure for the coronavirus on Monday. Kumara is not going to commute with the crew but he used to be named within the squad.

The Sri Lankan crew will depart for the Caribbean on February 23. Sri Lanka are scheduled to play 3 T20Is, 3 ODIs, and two Take a look at suits at the excursion, below a bio-secure setting in Antigua from March three to April 2.

Previous within the day, former Sri Lanka pacer Chaminda Vaas resigned from Sri Lanka’s bowling marketing consultant publish. Vaas has additionally knowledgeable that he may not be to be had to excursion West Indies as a member of the improve personnel.

“It’s in particular disheartening to notice that during an financial local weather reminiscent of the only dealing with all of the globe at the moment, Vaas has made this surprising and irresponsible transfer at the eve of the crew’s departure, in line with private financial acquire,” SLC mentioned in an reputable observation.

“The control of SLC, and certainly all of the country, cling Vaas in top esteem as a cricketer who has excelled for his nation. His years of yeoman provider had been liked and rewarded through the years each in standing and in type. In such instances, this can be very disheartening legend reminiscent of Chaminda Vaas has resorted to conserving the management, the cricketers, and certainly the sport at ransom, via handing in his resignation on the 11th hour,” it added.


The 3 T20I suits shall be performed on March three, five, and seven on the Coolidge Cricket Flooring, Antigua, whilst the ODI sequence shall be performed on the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Stadium, Antigua on March 10, 12, and 14. The primary Take a look at fit will get started on March 21, and the second one Take a look at will start on March 29.

Sri Lanka squad: Dimuth Karunaratne (capt), Dasun Shanaka, Danushka Gunathilake, Pathum Nissanka, Ashen Bandara, Oshada Fernando, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews, Niroshan Dickwella, Thisara Perera, Kamindu Mendis, Wanindu Hasaranga, Ramesh Mendis, Lahiru Kumara, Nuwan Pradeep, Asitha Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera, Akila Dananajaya, Lakshan Sandakan, Dilshan Madushanka, Suranga Lakmal.

Subjects discussed on this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *